Fr. William Scully

Fr. Kieran Waldron in our Parish Newsletter, 19th August, 2007

Fr. William Scully, P.P. 1873 – 1878

Fr. William Scully, was parish priest in Killererin from 1873 – 1878. He served previously in Newport, Bekan and Carna parishes. He was responsible for the building of the present Parochial House (front portion). For this he used the stones of the disused thatched church formerly situated on the East side of the road to Barnaderg. His headstone, also in Latin, is near the fifth Station in Killererin Church. He died on 2nd January, 1878.

An Old newspaper, The Galway Vindicator of 9th January, 1878 records the death of Fr. William Scully, P.P. of Killererin. As stated above, his mural tablet is near the fifth Station in the church, but he was buried apparently in the cemetery, not at the place of the plaque.

Building of Parochial House

The article states that he was a native of Tipperary and referred to “his simple homely manner and beaming good nature”. His praiseworthy anxiety for the interests of religion showed in his erection of a magnificent parochial residence that for years to come will stand as a memorial and witness of a holy zeal and laudable ambition.

The house indeed still stands – at least the front portion – 144 years later.

This page was added on 13/10/2022.

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published.